Brian Burns named new publisher of Ledger Media Group 1/30/17

Brian Burns, former publisher and president of the Tampa Tribune, has been named the new publisher of the Ledger Media Group (Lakeland, Fla.)

The new publisher was announced by Patrick Dorsey, regional vice president of Coastal Publishing Group and publisher of the Herald-Tribune Media Group, and Jim Doughton, regional publisher for GateHouse Media and publisher of the Gainesville Sun and Ocala Star Banner. GateHouse Media owns The Ledger and the News Chief.


Kevin Drake returns to Spartanburg as publisher 10/24/16

Kevin Drake: "I am delighted to be back home in the Carolinas, a place I love and have missed."


Ledger, News Chief journalists form union 8/16/16

Journalists in The Ledger (Lakeland, Fla.) and News Chief's newsrooms (Winter Haven, Fla.) elected to form a union Thursday and will be represented by The NewsGuild-Communication Workers of America. The bargaining unit, the first in the state according to the union, will cover the newspapers' reporters, photographers, copy editors and other non-management journalists.


Carmage Walls Commentary Prizes awarded 10/9/14

Editorial staff members from The Florida Times-Union in Jacksonville and the former editorial page editor of The Ledger in Lakeland, Fla., have been awarded top honors by SNPA in the Carmage Walls Commentary Prize competition.

First-place in the "over 50,000" circulation category went to Mike Clark, Roger Brown, Wayne Ezell and Ron Littlepage of The Florida Times-Union. First-place in the "under 50,000" circulation category was awarded to Glenn Marston, former editorial page editor of The Ledger.

Second-place honors went to John Railey, editorial page editor of the Winston-Salem (N.C.) Journal, and Anita Shelburne, opinion page editor of The Daily Progress, Charlottesville, Va.

The awards were presented by Lissa Walls Vahldiek, CEO of Southern Newspapers, Inc., Houston, Texas. Vahldiek is the daughter of the late Benjamin Carmage Walls, for whom this award is named.

Walls, whose newspaper career spanned seven decades, primarily owned community newspapers and advocated strong, courageous and positive editorial page leadership.

Calendar View all