Terry Kroeger elected chairman of News Media Alliance


The News Media Alliance has elected Terry Kroeger, president and CEO of BH Media Group, a subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway, as its chairman of the Board of Directors. Kroeger, who previously served as vice chairman, succeeds Michael Klingensmith, publisher and CEO of Star Tribune. Klingensmith will serve as past chair.

Kroeger is also publisher of The Omaha World-Herald, Nebraska's largest daily newspaper. He has been with the company for over 30 years. He became president and chief operating officer in 2005 and chief executive officer in 2008. BH Media is the ninth-largest newspaper group in the nation.

"We are thrilled to have Terry as our chairman," said David Chavern, News Media Alliance president and CEO. "The Alliance will greatly benefit from having someone with his depth of knowledge and industry-wide respect as its chair. We are confident that under his leadership, we will continue to successfully navigate the changing media landscape and grow as an industry that wields a strong print and digital presence."

Kroeger started at the Omaha World-Herald Company in 1985 as an assistant purchasing agent and property manager. He then served as a business manager at the company-owned Kearney Hub and then became director of community newspaper Ooperations. From 1994-1998, he served as publisher of The Record in Stockton, Calif. He was named vice president of the Omaha World-Herald Company in 1996.

"It is an honor to be named chairman of the News Media Alliance," said Kroeger. "It is an exciting time for news media, with tangible opportunities to show our importance and value to society. With continued threats to our business models, ranging from newsprint tariffs to loss of advertising revenue to the tech platforms, the idea of a world without quality news is driving people to invest in our product. The Alliance is committed to advocating for newspapers' rights and for the public's access to real news. To that end, we will work diligently to show we are credible providers of quality journalism, as well as digitally-savvy providers of engaging content."

Other Alliance officers elected were: Mark Aldam, president, Hearst Newspapers (vice chairman); Anna Sedgley, COO & CFO, Dow Jones & Company, Inc. (secretary); and Kevin Mowbray, vice president and COO, Lee Enterprises (treasurer).

Elected to initial one-year terms (2018-2019) on the News Media Alliance Board of Directors were:

  • Dr. Dietrich von Klaeden, Axel Springer SE
  • Debby Krenek, Newsday Media Group
  • Grant S. Moise, A. H. Belo
News Media Alliance, Kroeger, Moise, Aldam, Sedgley, Klingensmith, Mowbray
Calendar View all