The Dallas Morning News earns four first-place awards from the National Headliner Awards Competition


The Dallas Morning News earned 14 honors from the National Headliner Awards competition, including four first-place awards. This annual contest is one of the oldest and largest of its kind to recognize journalistic merit in the communications industry.

"Our team works diligently every day to provide our readers and their communities with quality news," said Mike Wilson, editor. "We are proud of the hard work and dedication exhibited by our reporters, and are honored to have the National Headliner Awards recognize their journalistic accomplishments, as well."

Three of the four first-place awards are for coverage from the Dallas police shootings on July 7, 2016. The first-place awards presented to the publication include:

  • Spot News in daily newspapers, all sizes: "Dallas Police Shootings" by The Dallas Morning News Staff
  • Editorial writing by an individual or team: "Dallas Ambush" by Sharon Grigsby, Michael Lindenberger and James Ragland
  • Photo essay/story: "Dallas July 7th Shooting" by The Dallas Morning News Staff
  • Local interest column of a variety of subjects: "Collection of Columns" by Jacquielynn Floyd

View a complete list of National Headliner Awards

Since 1935, the National Headliner Awards has presented more than 2,000 headliner medallions to outstanding writers, photographers, daily newspapers, magazines, graphic artists, radio and television stations and networks, as well as news syndicates. The judging panel consists of distinguished journalists representing newspapers, wire services and radio and television stations from around the country.

National Headliner Awards, Dallas
Calendar View all