P.J. Browning nominated as president of SNPA for 2018-19


P.J. Browning, publisher of The Post and Courier in Charleston, S.C., will be nominated during the SNPA News Industry Summit to be the next president of SNPA.

SNPA members will elect officers for 2018-19 on Wednesday afternoon, Oct. 10, in Nashville, Tenn.

In addition to Browning, the following nominations will be made for officers:

  • Chairman: Patrick Dorsey, publisher, Austin American-Statesman, Austin, Texas, and regional vice president, GateHouse Media, Florida and Alabama.
  • President-Elect: Tim Burke, publisher of The Palm Beach Post and Palm Beach Daily News, West Palm Beach, Fla., and group publisher, GateHouse Media.
  • Treasurer: Nat Lea, president and CEO, WEHCO Media, Little Rock, Ark.

Pictured above: Pat Dorsey, Tim Burke and Nat Lea

SNPA Board of Directors

Pictured above (top row): Mike Gebhart, James Paxton, Kenny Denny and William Bronson
Second row: Mike Fishman, Brian Jarvis, Marisa Porto and Judi Terzotis

Eight newspaper executives will be nominated to seats on the SNPA Board of Directors:

  • Mike Gebhart, executive vice president, Southern Community Newspapers, Lawrenceville, Ga., as the director from Georgia.
  • James Paxton, vice president/controller, Paxton Media Group, Paducah, Ky., as the director from Kentucky.
  • Kevin Denny, vice president and general manager, Advance Central Services Southeast, New Orleans, La., the director from Louisiana.
  • William Bronson, CEO, publisher and president, Journal Inc., Tupelo, Miss., the director from Mississippi.
  • R. Michael Fishman, publisher and editor of the Citizen Tribune in Morristown, Tenn., the director from Tennessee.
  • Brian Jarvis, president and owner, NCWV Media, Clarksburg, W.Va., the director from West Virginia.
  • Marisa Porto, publisher and editor-in-chief, Daily Press, Newport News, Va., an at-large director.
  • Judi Terzotis, president, The Advocate, Baton Rouge, La., an at-large director.

It's not too late to register for the Oct. 10-12 Annual Meeting:

Read about nominations for SNPA Foundation officers and trustees.

SNPA, Board of Directors, Browning, Dorsey, Burke, Lea, Gebhart, Denny, Bronson, Fishman, Jarvis, Porto, Terzotis
Calendar View all