Advance Publications Inc. names chief strategy and development officer 5/30/17

Advance Publications Inc. has announced that Janine McGrath Shelffo, co-head of Technology, Media and Telecom - Americas at UBS Investment Bank, will join the company later this year in the new position of chief strategy and development officer.


Mike Jung named new president in Memphis and Jackson, Tenn. 5/30/17

Michael Jung, president of The News-Press Media Group in Fort Myers, Fla., has been named president of The Commercial Appeal (Memphis) and The Jackson Sun.

Jung, 59, a more than 30-year industry veteran, has been the interim president at The Commercial Appeal for two months. He succeeds George Cogswell, who retired in January after five years as CA president.


Times Free Press president resigns; new president named 5/22/17

Reprinted from the Times Free Press, Chattanooga, Tenn.

Jeff DeLoach, a 56-year-old native of Jackson, Tenn., has been named president of the Chattanooga (Tenn.) Times Free Press.

He succeeds Bruce Hartmann, who has taken a job with the University of Tennessee Medical Center.


Media entrepreneur Scott Schurz receives honorary degree from alma mater 5/22/17

Denison University conferred the honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa, upon publisher and philanthropist Scott Schurz, a member of the Denison Class of 1957 and a member of the executive committee and board as well as honorary president for life of the Inter-American Press Association, during the college's 176th Commencement exercises on Saturday, May 13.

Schurz has been a leading voice in Indiana as a president and publisher of the Bloomington Herald-Times and vice president and director of Schurz Communications, a media firm operating radio, television, cable and newspapers in 10 states.

Read more from Schurz Communications


Cox Media Group names Ashley Peterson senior director of human resources 5/22/17

Ashley Peterson is Cox Media Group's new senior director of human resources at the company's headquarters in Atlanta, Ga. In this role, Peterson supports all of CMG's corporate client areas, in addition to Rare and CMG's Washington, D.C., News Bureau.


Erwin Potts, former chairman of McClatchy Co., dies at 85 5/22/17

Erwin Potts, a North Carolina native who spent his early career as a newspaper reporter and editor and eventually became the first non-family member to lead McClatchy Newspapers as it grew into a national media company, died last week in Mexico.


Veteran newspaper executive named publisher at The News & Advance 5/18/17

Bob MacPherson, a veteran newspaper publisher and executive, has been appointed publisher of The News & Advance in Lynchburg, Va.


BH Media appoints Alton Brown as new Journal publisher, regional VP 5/18/17

The opportunity to become publisher of the Winston-Salem Journal dovetailed the professional and personal paths neatly for Alton Brown, who took over the duties May 16.

Brown replaced Kevin Kampman, who retired May 15, as publisher and vice president of BH Media Group's group of 11 newspapers in North Carolina that includes The News & Record of Greensboro.


Promotion will strengthen relationship between newspaper, community 5/15/17

Sue Violi has been promoted to the role of community relations director for the Omaha World-Herald.


Donald Blount named new editor of The (Stockton) Record 5/15/17

Donald Blount was recently named as the new editor of The Record in Stockton, Calif.