GateHouse names Tee Hicks as senior group publisher for East Arkansas 10/2/17

GateHouse Media has named Teresa Hicks as senior group publisher for Southeast Arkansas, which includes the Pine Bluff Commercial, Stuttgart Daily Leader, the Newport Independent, the Arkadelphia Daily Siftings Herald, the Hot Springs Village Voice, the Hope Star, the White Hall Journal, the Heber Springs Sun-Times, the Helena Daily World, the Van Buren County Democrat and the Bastrop News, among others.


Kayla Castille named CNHI senior VP of content and digital operations 9/19/17

Kayla Gagnet Castille has been promoted to senior vice president of content and digital operations for Community Newspaper Holdings, President and CEO Donna Barrett announced.


The Sumter Item has new publisher 9/19/17

The Sumter Item has named its first non-family publisher in the newspaper's 123-year history.

William Vincent "Vince" Johnson Jr., former publisher of the Forsyth County News in Cumming, Ga., is the fifth publisher of the locally owned, independent South Carolina newspaper.


Mike Fishman nominated to SNPA Board of Directors 9/5/17

R. Michael Fishman, publisher and editor of the Citizen Tribune in Morristown, Tenn., has been nominated to the SNPA Board of Directors.


Neil Brown named president of Poynter Institute 8/29/17

Neil Brown has been named president of the Poynter Institute for Media Studies.

"I am honored to join Poynter, where imagination and integrity have been hallmarks in helping journalists get better at what they do and stay relevant in how they do it," Brown said.


Sentinel, Kansan welcome Lundblade as general manager 8/28/17

Steve Lundblade has been named general manager of the McPherson Sentinel and the Newton Kansan.


Caywood named VP of audience for Morris Media Network 8/22/17

Kurt Caywood has been named vice president of audience for Morris Media Network. The announcement was made by Donna Kessler, president of MMN.

Caywood will oversee all MMN content and audience development efforts, with a primary focus on significant digital growth and diversification of the Where travel network.


Cox Media Group names Mary Ellen Marcilliat-Falkner to new role 8/22/17

Cox Media Group has named Mary Ellen Marcilliat-Falkner as its new senior vice president and chief HR officer, beginning Sept. 11. She succeeds Karen Bennett, who was named as Cox Communications' new executive vice president and chief HR officer last month.


Tolley named executive editor of The State 8/14/17

Brian Tolley, executive editor of The Island Packet in Hilton Head Island and The Beaufort Gazette, has been named to the same position at The State in Columbia, S.C.

Tolley, 54, has strong ties to South Carolina. Besides serving for three years as editor of the two Lowcountry newsrooms, he is a former assistant managing editor at The State.


CNHI executive vice president to step down 8/8/17

Matthew Ipsan, executive vice president of Community Newspaper Holdings, Inc., is leaving the company for another opportunity, effective Sept. 5, CNHI announced Monday.

Ipsan joined CNHI 6½ years ago as the company's chief digital officer. He was later promoted to senior vice president and then to executive vice president, overseeing digital operations, including revenue and marketing.

Calendar View all