Lior Yahalomi appointed Civitas Media CEO 8/1/16

Civitas Media, a publisher of more than 100 community newspapers in 12 states, has appointed Lior Yahalomi, a board member and prior president of Civitas, as CEO. Yahalomi replaces Ralph Martin, who stepped down.


Cornwell retires, new publisher named in Clute, Texas 7/27/16

Bill Cornwell has retired as editor and publisher of The Facts in Clute, Texas. He has been succeeded as publisher by current Facts Editor Yvonne Mintz.


Konrad LaPrade named regional ad director 7/27/16

Konrad LaPrade has been named regional advertising director of four GateHouse Media properties in Western North Carolina and South Carolina. LaPrade will lead the advertising departments of the Herald-Journal (Spartanburg, S.C.), the Hendersonville (N.C.) Times-News, the Gastonia (N.C.) Gazette and the Shelby (N.C.) Daily Star.


John M. Jones III, longtime Sun publisher, dies at 101 7/26/16

Reprinted from The Greeneville Sun

John M. Jones III, 101, longtime publisher of The Greeneville (Tenn.) Sun and a major force in local economic development and civic life from the late 1940s to the late 1990s, died peacefully Tuesday afternoon, July 26, surrounded by family.


AP Executive Editor Kathleen Carroll to step down at year's end 7/25/16

Senior Vice President and Executive Editor Kathleen Carroll has decided to leave The Associated Press at the end of the year.

A search for the next executive editor will begin immediately, starting with the strong talent at AP. A successor is expected to be in place by Jan. 1, 2017.

Carroll, who has led AP's global news operations for 14 years, is announcing her decision now to offer sufficient time for that search.


Jeff Gauger named editor of The Times in Shreveport 7/19/16

Former Greensboro (N.C.) editor and publisher Jeff Gauger has been named executive editor of The Times in Shreveport, La., according to Times president Alan English.


SVP Jessica Bruce adds Corporate Communications to her leadership role 4/19/16

The Associated Press has announced that Senior Vice President Jessica Bruce will be the new head of Corporate Communications while remaining in charge of Global Human Resources.


Derek May named president of Morris Publishing Group 4/19/16

Derek May has been named president of Morris Publishing Group, LLC. The announcement was made by William S. Morris IV, president and CEO of Morris Communications, LLC.


GateHouse Media names Tom Clifford as VP of Center for News & Design 4/19/16

GateHouse Media recently named Tom Clifford as vice president of its Center for News & Design in Austin, Texas.


Derek Dunn-Rankin, founder of Sun Coast Media Group, dies at 88 4/18/16

By Garry Overbey, deputy Charlotte editor, Charlotte Sun

Derek Dunn-Rankin, founder and chairman of the Sun Coast Media Group, which publishes the Sun newspapers, died this past weekend at his home in Venice (one day before his newspaper won its first Pulitzer). He was 88.

Derek Dunn-Rankin was a former SNPA director and trustee, the recipient of the Mayborn Leadership Award, and the father of current SNPA President David Dunn-Rankin.

The company Dunn-Rankin founded has grown to more than 350 employees, and now includes the daily Sun papers in Charlotte, Englewood and North Port, as well as publications in Venice and DeSoto, Highlands and Polk counties, along with printing facilities in Charlotte and Sarasota.